Veganmofo 13: I’ll take one Vegan please (and goodbye ‘mofo)

Id add watercress to everything if you let me

I'd add watercress to everything if you let me

Secret vegan sandwich alert. Well not really secret or an alert, but if you’re lost in Manhattan amidst a sea of Burger King and Quiznos and feeling spendy then high-end NYC sandwich chain ‘Wichcraft hears your call.

‘Wichcraft saves the day with a forward-thinking, luscious sandwich that’s worth the occasional forgetting to pack lunch for. Known to the public as the Chopped Chickpea sandwich, the staff end of the receipt reveals it’s covertly known as the VEGAN. I had to beg my slightly confused sandwich server to let me have her receipt, the one she uses to locate which sandwich belongs to whom.

After almost overdosing on this lovely creation within the first few months of not one, but two of them open near my job I’m now back in the habit. Two slabs of peasant bread nestle tangy chopped chickpeas, Kalamata olives, roasted red peppers and paper-thin slices of preserved lemon. That’s right, preserved lemon makes this a work of art. I typically customize my order with the addition of watercress (no charge!), but I’d happily pay up another dollar for my favorite crunchy green thing.

I adore this brilliant move on the part of ‘Wichcraft. It excites me when I see mainstream companies, even this “niche” upscale chain, unexpectedly cater to vegan needs.

This sandwich is just an occasional treat, with its recession-unfriendly price tag and dripping with abundant oil. Then again an almost healthy, veggie-laced lunch in midtown Manhattan is usually designed to clean out your change purse. And after a week of eating from the same giant pot of homemade beans or soup for lunch a splurge is inevitable.

And so ends my experiment in Veganmofo today too. It’s been great in many ways and it’s given me the inspiration and motivation to join the vegan blogging masses, who are always good company. I jumped on late but it’s better than not doing anything at all, and that means you too, other late-joining Veganmofoer. Cheers and hurray to everyone that participated and blogged like hell along the way. Go bake a dozen pumpkin cupcakes to celebrate if your fingers haven’t fallen off from all that typing just yet!

7 Comments

Filed under NYC Eating, Veganmofo

7 responses to “Veganmofo 13: I’ll take one Vegan please (and goodbye ‘mofo)

  1. The sandwich looks amazing, especially the bread and well the whole thing, really.

  2. Amazing sandwich! I think I would eat anything with preserved lemon on it.

  3. Ooh, we have a ‘Wichcraft in San Francisco, I’ll have to check it out!

  4. That sounds delicious. I’ve been stranded at the 42nd St. NYPL many a time with a bag packed with laptop, textbooks, and notebooks, but no lunch. Good to know this exists, even if it is pricey.

  5. oh man, I think I am going to have to walk down to the Herald Square location today and get this as a special election day treat.

  6. Whoa that looks fantastic. I had no idea they had a vegan sandwich, and there is one right near my job. Looks like I know where I’ll be going instead of Chipotle this week!

  7. Mmmm. Just reporting back- I had it today and it was indeed delicious! Best sandwich I’ve had in a while, certainly the best available around the block here. Soooo glad you posted about this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

