Wanted: Vegan Latina cookbook testers

Salvadorian pupusas stuffed with black beans, fried plantains & tofu chicharrones

Salvadorian pupusas stuffed with black beans, fried plantains & tofu "chicharrones"

Greetings from the long lost. A lot has been going on and it’s done a fine job at keeping me away from blogging. But big things are coming down the pike. To be brief:

This is my first quiet call-out for testers for my upcoming Latin American themed vegan cookbook, known for now as Vegan Latina. I hope to have a full-fledged private testing forum in the next few weeks. What to expect should you choose to sign up:

-A mélange of vegan recipes with Latin American sabór! Sometimes I will veganize traditional favorites while other recipes are purely driven by inspiration. This will feature the whole enchilada including: soups, salad, desserts, sauces, entrees, sides, sweets, etc.

-A lot of recipes to test, but this all depends on you. I will be posting over 100 recipes for testing. Anyone who tests at least five recipes will get a thank you in the book. Testers that are gung-ho and test more (an amount I’ll determine soon, but if you’re psyched and an enthusiastic cook you will certainly qualify), will get a copy of the book for free.

So, ultimately how much time you are willing to donate will figure into how many recipes you want to test. I appreciate and value all the help I can get!

-Not familiar with Latino cooking? Well then I hope to get you a little more comfortable around it. Generally you’ll be eating healthy with plenty of fresh veggies, grains and beans. But of course there will be dessert and a little frying now and then. There may be ingredients unusual or hard to come by, but that’s part of the testing process. If you’re willing to do a little online ordering for ingredients then hopefully everyone can be covered. And there’s always substitutions!

-Who I am looking for: the open minded, home-cooking-lovin’, internet-using person who thinks they can swing at least two home cooked meals a week and post about how it went on an online forum. You don’t even have to be vegan to cook this stuff, just excited to give it a chance! Of course if you cook like five meals in one evening once a week, or five little things over the course of a week and a half that works too. I’m just generalizing what kind of pacing will be needed for testing recipes.

I estimate that testing should span early February to late spring/early summer.

If this sounds like something you want to do, please give it a shot! Respond to this post and I will contact you shortly.

Oh, besides all of that I’m up to my eyeballs in cookies (and there are so many more I haven’t had a chance to post pics of here).

47 Comments

Filed under Vegan Latina book

47 responses to “Wanted: Vegan Latina cookbook testers

  1. Sounds excellent. I’d be happy to test.

  2. If you don’t mind that I’m also cookie testing, I’d love to test. :)

  3. I would love to test, yes.

  4. terryromero

    Cookie testers are welcome too! Heh, I’m probably not going to dig too deep into desserts until the cookies are done anyway, least we go into sugar shock (again).

  5. shmeeps

    I’m in…and just about to eat a black bean tamale with avocado, mmmmm

  6. Terry, I’d love to test. I’m a cookie tester at the moment so know the drill. This is going to be exciting!

  7. Wow, exciting! Sounds like a great idea for a cookbook. I would love to test, especially since I rarely cook Latin American food, even though I absolutely love it.

  8. aubreecheriedesigns

    Hi, I came across your post kind of randomly, but I am very interested in doing some of the testing. I love Latin American food!

  9. lisa

    I’d love to help! (Help myself try tasty new recipes, that is ;-))

  10. Monica

    i would really like to test.

  11. chamaeleonsky

    I’m so excited to test for you, it’s like a dream! I love latin food, am new to the vegan scene so I need more recipes, and I’ll be living in latin america for a little while soon, so I need some inspiration! Find me at chamaeleonsky@gmail.com

  12. a-k

    I’d love to test for you… this is a vegan cookbook I’ve been wanting for a long, long time!

  13. I would like to test. I could use a cookie detox too.

  14. I’ve been looking forward to this cookbook since I heard about it months ago! I’d love to test.

  15. bex

    I can’t say I’m familiar with Latino food but that doesn’t meant I don’t want to be. I’d love to test a few recipes (already a cookie tester).

  16. Brittany

    I would love to test!

  17. efcliz

    Yes please!! I tested loads of stuff for Isa’s brunch book, Joni’s burgers and now testing for Joni and Celine – but could easily squeeze in a tonne of Latina cooking – much loved but unexplored much in our house

  18. Megan McF.

    I’m just now starting to learn how to cook (tragic, I know!) but I absolutely love Latino food! If you don’t mind a beginner, I’d love to help out.

  19. Sarah W.

    I’m psyched and enthusiastic…count me in!

  20. i would love to test if you’re still looking for more people! i cook vegan dinners from scratch at least 4 times a week for my omni husband and veg toddler. i just moved to the northwest from california a year ago and i would love to get my hands on some yummy latin food and recipes!

  21. Avy Gonzalez

    Hi! I’m a friend of Erica’s and would love to test as well.

  22. i’d be happy to test if you need me.

  23. Hey Terry, I’d love to test if you need people. You know I cook at home all the time!

  24. efcliz

    Did I need to leave an e-mail address? Doh!! liz.wyman@nulc.ac.uk

    I was one of the few brave enough to test the dosai – that must give me a head start, right?

  25. Hey Terry, I’d love to test if you’re still looking for testers! There are few things I love more than, well, food!

  26. If you are still looking for testers I would love to do it. I can definitely get excited about trying out these recipes and have lots of access to Latin ingredients nearby.

  27. Terry,
    I can’t promise to test like mad, but I probably love papusas more than the next gal. Whatever you’ve got that’s gluten free, I’m on. If you need people that can seriously pump it out, then don’t sign me up, but if you just want the love I am yours. I LOVE latin food.

    xo
    kittee

  28. Innochka

    Terry,
    Sounds delicious! A vegan’s got to eat, and I’m always home-cooking. It would be nice to add some Vegan Latina flair to my kitchen. I offer my testing services, if you will have me.

  29. Ooh, I’d love to test as well!

  30. Please count me in as one who would love to test your delicious recipes.

  31. Chantal Reid

    I would love to test… Latino food is about the only kind of vegan food that I can get into my husband… I’ll also be able to tell you how hard it is to get some of the ingredients in Canada.

    I have never tested recipes before, but I am looking forward to doing it.

  32. Angela

    I would love to test recipes from your Vegan Latina cookbook! Please contact me with the details.

  33. Chani

    I would love to help! Sign me up please.

  34. If you are still looking for testers, I would most definitely be interested!

  35. Suki

    I’ve been creating vegan Latino recipes myself and would LOVE to help test yours!

  36. Yesssss, in under the wire….would love, love to help!! xo….j

  37. Hey Terry! I just found about this today and if there is room I would love to test! I wish I would have found out about this earlier on. I really want to learn more about latin cusine! My email address is veganjay92(at)yahoo(dot)com

  38. Lola

    I’d like to test. :)

  39. Moni

    I’d love to test! How do I sign up? I’m transitioning from vegetarian to vegan – and will need vegan pupusas and vegan paella for sure!

  40. Pingback: More testing, an anniversary, and a give-away! « seitan is my motor

  41. Por favor chica…and cookies, tambien…

  42. XvictimOFkurovecX

    I’d like to test as well, I’m really into cooking and forcing other people to eat it!

  43. Hi Terry! First..I’m a brazilian..and I love Latina Food. I would love to test for you. And I think it’ll be easier for me to find the ingredients. Are you going to put some brazilian food in your book?
    Waiting for your answer..
    C.

  44. Hi,

    Is it too late to sign up to test?

  45. Pingback: The awesomeness of testing and blogging « seitan is my motor

Leave a Reply

