Veganmofo 9: A little Thursday baking shwag

Gather ye knights around the Round Dish

Gather ye knights around the Round Dish

Nothing special to report, unless you’re a flour snob like me and can’t get enough of the King.

Well over a year ago Paula so wonderfully gave me a little bag of black cocoa from KA flour. Black cocoa being what it is, so intense and more of a flavoring than an ingredient, it lasted me through a year and beyond of cupcakes and holiday cookies. Until the summer that is. A plague of pantry moths spurred by the intense heat proceeded to decimate anything beany, nutty or floury in the cabinets, always before I could do anything about it. My precious bag of black cocoa went down with the best of them. Life goes on without making deeply dark Oreo-esque treats, but can we really call it living? Enough is enough already.

Blackest of the Black Cocoa, what started it all

Blackest of the Black Cocoa, what started it all


For some reason black cocoa in annoying elusive during my daily NYC travels. Isa of course had it magically stocked mere minutes away from her at the local Key Food or whatever in Brooklyn, but that’s Isa for you. For the rest of us there’s mail order and the joys of internet shopping.

Online shopping leaves me defenseless at times and I couldn’t resist picking up a few extra things. With the price of shipping being what it is might as well go bananas. Or in this case lemons. Lemon Powder claims to deliver maximum lemon flavor to baked goods beyond what fresh lemons can do. I also like the idea I can make things really lemony without upsetting the delicate liquid balance of the recipe.

Continuing the quest for flavor I threw in a bottle of baking emulsion, which apparently ain’t your mother’s baking extract. “Princess Cake” flavor, something citrus/vanilla/nutty, appealed to the six year old in me. Just opening up the bottle made my kitchen smell like a fantasy bakery owned and operated by both Strawberry Shortcake, Holly Hobby and My Little Pony. A little fake and intensely sweet but entirely yummy.

Along with the black cocoa I picked up some richly hued natural cocoa that has not been Dutch processes. Dutch processing is the most popular form of cocoa I find in stores here and usually the only kind. While Dutched cocoa has less natural acidity (and deeper color), its cocoa flavor somewhat mellowed unlike natural cocoa. I’m looking to make high voltage chocolate biscotti soon with a combo of both cocoas.

And what’s a kitchen splurge without a few gadgets? Not a gadget really, the huge stoneware deep dish pie plate was on-sale pie plate and screamed “buy me”! Just look at that baddass scene on it’s surface of King Arthur and his boys chillin’ by the Round Table. You just know they’re discussing import matters of the kingdom like the pros and cons of ground flax seeds vs. blended silken tofu.

The dough whisk, looking like modern art and reminding me of something I found flattened by the side of the road once, promises to be able to stir batters and dough of any strength. I use a rubber spatula to stir things 99.9% of the time, but I have to stay open minded. And if it fails to impress at least I hang it from the Xmas tree or beat a rug with.

7 Comments

Filed under Baking, Veganmofo

7 responses to “Veganmofo 9: A little Thursday baking shwag

  1. Intriguing whisk thing – do report once you use it. I have to stay off the King Arthur website, as I can blow the budget every time!

  2. lemon powder! princess flavor! I am in awe! I really should go visit my aunt and uncle in vermont soon. They live so close to the king arthur store/factory. The one time I went there, it was so hard not to buy everything.

    awesome haul, Terry!

  3. I always want to order more from KA, too. And more and more. Can’t wait to see what you do with the lemon powder!

    I’m going to go look at my catalog. That one and Penzey’s are my faves.

  4. I have a dough whisk from the King and love it. It’s great for quick breads and (cup)cake batter.

    I had to throw out a nearly full bag of black cocoa when mice got into my cupboard. so tragic, but it’s given me an excuse to order more goodies.

  5. al

    we have those dough whisks where i work (kitchenware store) and i find them fascinating but don’t understand how they work.

    i also find that there is more than one kind of cocoa rather confusing.

  6. How funny, natural cocoa is more abundant here. I had a tough time finding dutch processed! I am intrigued by this Lemon Powder! I may have to snag some.

  7. bex

    you would think, living in Vermont I would have a steady stream of the black gold featured here but alas, no joy. I will have to place my order along with the rest.
    That whisk is intriguing. It’s pretty enough to decorate with even if it doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

